Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Denmark

Chief Conductor, Marc Soustrot
Principal Guest Conductor, Leif Segerstam
Chief Executive and Artistic Director, Kristian Rahbek Knudsen

Requires Concert Master

The audition takes place: Wednesday August 29th, 2018

Required material for audition:

  • 1st round: W.A. Mozart: Violin Concerto no. 4 in D major, K. 218, 1st movement with cadenza or W.A. Mozart: Violin Concerto no. 5 in A major, K. 219, 1st movement with cadenza
  • 2nd round & 3rd round: 1st movement of one of the following concertos with cadenza: L. van Beethoven, J. Brahms, P. Tchaikovsky, J. Sibelius, or C. Nielsen plus orchestral excerpts

All music to be played in orchestral tuning A = 442 hz.

Orchestral excepts will be sent electronically to the applicants after the closing date for applications.

The audition will take place at the Symphonic Hall at Musikhuset Aarhus (Concert Hall Aarhus), Skovgaardsgade 2c, 8000 Aarhus C, Denmark. The Aarhus Symphony Orchestra will provide a pianist on the day of the audition, but travelling expenses and expenses for accommodation must be met by the applicant.

SALARY: Salary pursuant to the current agreements between the musicians’ union and the Danish regional symphony orchestras.

NB: Candidates are asked to keep themselves informed as to the current rules and regulations concerning work permit in Denmark.

Closing date for applications: Sunday August 12th 23:59 GMT+1

Only applications using the online application form below will be accepted: DEADLINE IS CLOSED. WE ARE NO LONGER ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS.

Further questions can be e-mailed to:

Hjarne Fessel
e-mail: hjfe@aarhus.dk
Tel. (+45) 4050 8422
Aarhus Symfoniorkester
Musikhuset Aarhus,
Skovgaardsgade 2c
8000 Aarhus C

About the orchestra and the city:

Aarhus Symphony Orchestra: www.aarhussymfoni.dk
The City of Aarhus: www.aarhus.dk