Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Denmark

Chief Conductor: Marc Soustrot
Honorary Conductor: Leif Segerstam
Artistic Director: Jesper Nordin


is seeking:

Viola – 3rd solo player

The audition takes place: Friday, December 10th 2021

Required material for audition:

  • 1st round: Carl Stamitz: Viola Concerto in D major, 1st movement with cadenza OR
    F.A. Hoffmeister: Viola Concerto in D major, 1st movement with cadenza
  • 2nd round: Bela Bartok: Viola Concerto, 1st movement OR
    William Walton: Viola Concerto, 1st movement OR
    Paul Hindemith: Viola Concerto ”Der Schwanendreher”, 1st movement
    + orchestral excerpts (possibly)
  • 3rd round: Orchestral excerpts

All music to be played in orchestral tuning A = 442 hz

Orchestral excerpts will be sent electronically to the applicants after the closing date for applications. They are also available for download here:
👉 Download orchestral excerpts

The audition will take place at the Symphonic Hall at Musikhuset Aarhus (Concert Hall Aarhus), Skovgaardsgade 2C, 8000 Aarhus C, Denmark. The Aarhus Symphony Orchestra will provide a pianist on the day of the audition but travelling expenses and expenses for accommodation must be met by the applicant.

SALARY: Salary pursuant to the current agreements between the musicians’ union and the Danish regional symphony orchestras.

NB: Candidates are asked to keep themselves informed as to the current rules and regulations concerning work permit in Denmark.

COVID-19: It falls on the applicant to follow the rules and guidelines for corona virus at all times.

Closing date for applications:November 21, 2021 (applications are now closed)

Further questions can be emailed to: aso-audition@mkb.aarhus.dk

Production Manager
Nicholas Pilvang
Mobile: (+45) 4050 8422
Aarhus Symfoniorkester
Musikhuset Aarhus,
Skovgaardsgade 2C
8000 Aarhus C

About the orchestra and the city:

Aarhus Symphony Orchestra: www.aarhussymfoni.dk
The City of Aarhus: www.aarhus.dk