Double Bass – 2nd solo

Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Denmark

Chief Conductor: Marc Soustrot
Honorary Conductor: Leif Segerstam
Artistic Director: Jesper Nordin


is seeking:

Double Bass – 2nd solo

The audition takes place: Friday, June 24th 2022

Required material for audition:

  • 1st round: Vanhal or Dittersdorf: Concerto, 1st movement with cadenza by H. K. Gruber + orchestral excerpts
  • 2nd round: Bottesini: Concerto no. 2 (with cadenza) or Koussevitsky: Concerto, 1st movement
  • 3rd round: Orchestral excerpts

All music to be played in orchestral tuning. The orchestra tunes to A = 442 Hz

Orchestral excerpts will be sent electronically to the applicants after the closing date for applications and will be available on this page:
👉 Download orchestral excerpts

The audition will take place at the Symphonic Hall at Musikhuset Aarhus (Concert Hall Aarhus), Skovgaardsgade 2C, 8000 Aarhus C, Denmark. The Aarhus Symphony Orchestra will provide a pianist on the day of the audition but travelling expenses and expenses for accommodation must be met by the applicant.

SALARY: Salary pursuant to the current agreements between the musicians’ union and the Danish regional symphony orchestras.

NB: Candidates are asked to keep themselves informed as to the current rules and regulations concerning work permit in Denmark.

COVID-19: It falls on the applicant to follow the rules and guidelines for corona virus at all times.

Closing date for applications: May 31st 2022
Invitations will be sent no later than June 3rd

Only applications submitted via the form below will be accepted:


Further questions can be emailed to:

Production Manager
Nicholas Pilvang
Mobile: (+45) 4050 8422
Aarhus Symfoniorkester
Musikhuset Aarhus,
Skovgaardsgade 2C
8000 Aarhus C

About the orchestra and the city:

Aarhus Symphony Orchestra:
The City of Aarhus: